SEO service service now!

Vancouver Wa’s Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

Vancouver Wa’s Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

Vancouver Wa’s Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust – Criminal hit and run charges are a very common charge that I see brought by prosecutors in Vancouver, Battleground, Longview and Kelso. Ordinary people can find themselves in dire situations in the blink of an eye, and the consequences of a conviction can include driver’s license suspension, jail time, court fees, and driving lessons.

We understand that sometimes people make mistakes when they get into an accident. Sometimes they are scared. Sometimes they are not aware of their legal obligations. Sometimes they make quick decisions without thinking. If you’ve been charged with a hit-and-run, it’s important to know what you’re facing.

Table of Contents

Vancouver Wa's Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

This article will look at the details of hit and run crimes, so that you will be better informed about how best to proceed after being arrested. If you need legal help for your case, we provide professional representation and courtroom experience.

About Philbrook Law

Hit and run charges are divided into three categories: assisted hit and run, absent hit and run, and hit and run injuries. Let’s analyze these three allegations.

Have you been in a car accident? What should you do in this case? Who should you contact? Are you obligated to share my information? Should you call the police? These are all legitimate questions. Your responsibilities depend on the situation.

When you are involved in an accident that damages only one vehicle or property, Washington state law lists your liability in RCW 46.52.010.

You should stop immediately and find the owner of the vehicle or property and give them your name and contact information. If the person cannot be located, you must leave a written notice on a vehicle or other property in a prominent location and you must also file an accident report.

Vancouver Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer

When you are involved in an unattended vehicle or an accident that results in injury to another person, Washington State law lists your responsibilities in RCW 46.52.020.

You must stop your vehicle at the scene of the accident (or as close to the accident as possible) and be there to provide the following information:

If someone else is injured in an accident, you must provide necessary assistance, such as medical attention.

Vancouver Wa's Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

Hit-and-run, as defined in RCW 46.52.010, is a simple misdemeanor. If convicted, this person will face a maximum penalty of 90 days in prison and a fine of $1,000. The Washington Department of Licensing will not take any action against your license as a result of this penalty. An unintentional hit-and-run is defined as hitting a car or unknown object, causing injury or damage, and leaving the scene without exchanging any required information. under the law. “Absent” means the car or property is unoccupied, i.e. hitting a parked car or fire hydrant.

Should I Hire An Attorney After A Car Accident In Oregon Or Washington State?

There is a “mens rea” component to a hit-and-run charge, meaning you must know you were involved in the crash to be convicted. Additionally, to commit the crime of accidental hit-and-run, the collision must cause damage. If you hit something but it doesn’t cause damage, don’t hit and run. However, if the collision caused damage, Washington law requires you to provide the information described in this article before leaving the scene (also found in RCW 46.52.010).

At its most serious, hit-and-run is a misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. Additionally, the DOL will impose a minimum 1-year license suspension upon conviction for this crime. If you have been suspended, you may be eligible to apply for certain types of restricted licenses.

Being involved in a hit-and-run counts as an attack against you in determining habitual offender status in Washington. If you have been convicted of three crimes within a five-year period (i.e. assisting in a hit and run, reckless driving, DUI, driving while suspended 2

Be a habitual traffic violator for 7 years and will not be allowed to drive under any circumstances.

Buckley & Associates

Hit and run assist means you collided with an attended vehicle resulting in damage and you left the scene before exchanging your information. “Assisted” means someone was driving the vehicle that crashed.

If you are involved in a collision with an attended vehicle, Washington law requires you to provide the information described earlier in this article (and also contained in RCW 46.52.020). Failure to do so could result in criminal charges for hit and run.

At its most serious, hit and run is a class C felony, with a maximum penalty of five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. It is a Class B felony if another injured person dies as a result of their injuries. A hit and run injury means that you hit a person causing bodily injury and you did not remain at the scene to comply with the legal obligations listed earlier in this article (and also RCW 46.52 .020 in).

Vancouver Wa's Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

Your attorney may be able to negotiate a dismissal or reduction of the charges. If there are questions about the damage caused, whether you know you were involved in the accident, or whether you actually gave your information, these are all useful information. Let a criminal defense attorney defend your case.

Vancouver Personal Injury Lawyer

Additionally, depending on the facts of your case, your attorney may be able to negotiate a civil settlement with the victim.

Civil commitment means that the victim in the case has received civil compensation for their injuries and is willing to sign a document asking the judge to dismiss the case. This option does not apply to hit and run injury charges. Rather, it only exists because of corruption and blatant malpractice.

Interestingly, unless the parties agree, the judge does not have the legal authority to order you to serve a sentence that results in a criminal conviction for the separate crime of hit and run. In Washington, criminal compensation can only be awarded if the victim was not injured otherwise as a result of the crime. In other words, the criminal must cause harm to the victim.

In a hit-and-run, the victim’s injury (i.e. loss) occurred before the crime was committed. The “crime” of crashing and running away is not a coincidence. Rather, it’s about leaving the scene without changing your information. So, because the accident that caused the damage occurred before you left the scene, the crime technically occurred after the damage occurred. So, if you are convicted only of hit-and-run, the judge does not have the authority to impose criminal rehabilitation unless the parties agree. For a more detailed discussion on this issue, you can read

Visit Bellevue Wa In King County, Washington, United States

, 38 W. attractive. 135 (1984) (citing Bang v. Krall, 125 Wn.2d 146, 881 P.2d 1040 (1994).

That said, the victim has the right to file a civil lawsuit, which means suing you in civil court. This unique rule only applies to stand-alone hit and run crimes. So, if you were also cited for DUI, reckless driving or suspended driving, for example, you may be held criminally liable to receive compensation for your conviction.

The crime of hit and run is serious. They can change your life instantly. I always advise my clients to purchase insurance because any driving violation can become very expensive very quickly. If you have been charged with hit and run, contact our office for legal representation. We provide competent legal defense at a price you can afford.

Vancouver Wa's Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can Trust

Vancouver criminal defense lawyer Tom Carley has successfully defended thousands of criminal cases and gotten his clients fired multiple times while fighting hit-and-run charges. Don’t fight your case alone – email or call us today for experienced legal help. (360) 726-3571. Few things are as life-changing as being suddenly and severely injured in a car accident or another car accident. Instantly, your life changes through no fault of your own. Another person’s negligence or misconduct can cause catastrophic injuries that result in large medical bills, lost wages, and long-term pain and suffering. If you have been injured in an auto or pedestrian accident, speak with an experienced attorney who can help you get the medical care you need and the compensation you deserve enjoy.

I Was Injured In A Car Accident In Vancouver, What Should I Do?

For a free initial consultation, contact us today at 360-694-6505 in our Vancouver, Washington office. Personal injury cases are charged on a contingency fee basis, meaning we do not pay attorney fees until you receive compensation.

For more than 40 years, we have provided legal representation and guidance to people involved in car accidents, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents and other vehicle accidents. Robert Gregg is licensed to practice in Washington and Oregon so that shouldn’t be an issue

About the Author

0 Comments

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    1. Vancouver Wa's Auto Accident Attorney: Legal Support You Can TrustThis article will look at the details of hit and run crimes, so that you will be better informed about how best to proceed after being arrested. If you need legal help for your case, we provide professional representation and courtroom experience.About Philbrook LawHit and run charges are divided into three categories: assisted hit and run, absent hit and run, and hit and run injuries. Let's analyze these three allegations.Have you been in a car accident? What should you do in this case? Who should you contact? Are you obligated to share my information? Should you call the police? These are all legitimate questions. Your responsibilities depend on the situation.When you are involved in an accident that damages only one vehicle or property, Washington state law lists your liability in RCW 46.52.010.You should stop immediately and find the owner of the vehicle or property and give them your name and contact information. If the person cannot be located, you must leave a written notice on a vehicle or other property in a prominent location and you must also file an accident report.Vancouver Drunk Driving Accident LawyerWhen you are involved in an unattended vehicle or an accident that results in injury to another person, Washington State law lists your responsibilities in RCW 46.52.020.You must stop your vehicle at the scene of the accident (or as close to the accident as possible) and be there to provide the following information:If someone else is injured in an accident, you must provide necessary assistance, such as medical attention.Hit-and-run, as defined in RCW 46.52.010, is a simple misdemeanor. If convicted, this person will face a maximum penalty of 90 days in prison and a fine of $1,000. The Washington Department of Licensing will not take any action against your license as a result of this penalty. An unintentional hit-and-run is defined as hitting a car or unknown object, causing injury or damage, and leaving the scene without exchanging any required information. under the law. “Absent” means the car or property is unoccupied, i.e. hitting a parked car or fire hydrant.Should I Hire An Attorney After A Car Accident In Oregon Or Washington State?There is a "mens rea" component to a hit-and-run charge, meaning you must know you were involved in the crash to be convicted. Additionally, to commit the crime of accidental hit-and-run, the collision must cause damage. If you hit something but it doesn't cause damage, don't hit and run. However, if the collision caused damage, Washington law requires you to provide the information described in this article before leaving the scene (also found in RCW 46.52.010).At its most serious, hit-and-run is a misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. Additionally, the DOL will impose a minimum 1-year license suspension upon conviction for this crime. If you have been suspended, you may be eligible to apply for certain types of restricted licenses.Being involved in a hit-and-run counts as an attack against you in determining habitual offender status in Washington. If you have been convicted of three crimes within a five-year period (i.e. assisting in a hit and run, reckless driving, DUI, driving while suspended 2Be a habitual traffic violator for 7 years and will not be allowed to drive under any circumstances.Buckley & AssociatesHit and run assist means you collided with an attended vehicle resulting in damage and you left the scene before exchanging your information. "Assisted" means someone was driving the vehicle that crashed.If you are involved in a collision with an attended vehicle, Washington law requires you to provide the information described earlier in this article (and also contained in RCW 46.52.020). Failure to do so could result in criminal charges for hit and run.At its most serious, hit and run is a class C felony, with a maximum penalty of five years in prison and a $10,000 fine. It is a Class B felony if another injured person dies as a result of their injuries. A hit and run injury means that you hit a person causing bodily injury and you did not remain at the scene to comply with the legal obligations listed earlier in this article (and also RCW 46.52 .020 in).Your attorney may be able to negotiate a dismissal or reduction of the charges. If there are questions about the damage caused, whether you know you were involved in the accident, or whether you actually gave your information, these are all useful information. Let a criminal defense attorney defend your case.Vancouver Personal Injury LawyerAdditionally, depending on the facts of your case, your attorney may be able to negotiate a civil settlement with the victim.Civil commitment means that the victim in the case has received civil compensation for their injuries and is willing to sign a document asking the judge to dismiss the case. This option does not apply to hit and run injury charges. Rather, it only exists because of corruption and blatant malpractice.Interestingly, unless the parties agree, the judge does not have the legal authority to order you to serve a sentence that results in a criminal conviction for the separate crime of hit and run. In Washington, criminal compensation can only be awarded if the victim was not injured otherwise as a result of the crime. In other words, the criminal must cause harm to the victim.In a hit-and-run, the victim's injury (i.e. loss) occurred before the crime was committed. The "crime" of crashing and running away is not a coincidence. Rather, it's about leaving the scene without changing your information. So, because the accident that caused the damage occurred before you left the scene, the crime technically occurred after the damage occurred. So, if you are convicted only of hit-and-run, the judge does not have the authority to impose criminal rehabilitation unless the parties agree. For a more detailed discussion on this issue, you can readVisit Bellevue Wa In King County, Washington, United States, 38 W. attractive. 135 (1984) (citing Bang v. Krall, 125 Wn.2d 146, 881 P.2d 1040 (1994).That said, the victim has the right to file a civil lawsuit, which means suing you in civil court. This unique rule only applies to stand-alone hit and run crimes. So, if you were also cited for DUI, reckless driving or suspended driving, for example, you may be held criminally liable to receive compensation for your conviction.The crime of hit and run is serious. They can change your life instantly. I always advise my clients to purchase insurance because any driving violation can become very expensive very quickly. If you have been charged with hit and run, contact our office for legal representation. We provide competent legal defense at a price you can afford.Vancouver criminal defense lawyer Tom Carley has successfully defended thousands of criminal cases and gotten his clients fired multiple times while fighting hit-and-run charges. Don't fight your case alone - email or call us today for experienced legal help. (360) 726-3571. Few things are as life-changing as being suddenly and severely injured in a car accident or another car accident. Instantly, your life changes through no fault of your own. Another person's negligence or misconduct can cause catastrophic injuries that result in large medical bills, lost wages, and long-term pain and suffering. If you have been injured in an auto or pedestrian accident, speak with an experienced attorney who can help you get the medical care you need and the compensation you deserve enjoy.I Was Injured In A Car Accident In Vancouver, What Should I Do?
    Cookie Consent
    We serve cookies on this site to analyze traffic, remember your preferences, and optimize your experience.
    Oops!
    It seems there is something wrong with your internet connection. Please connect to the internet and start browsing again.